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To sell liquor, beer & wine in California a business must apply for a license from the Department of Alcoholic Beverage 
Control, and local regulatory agencies. Non-retail licenses such as beer manufacturers, wine manufacturers, distilled 
spirits manufacturers, brandy manufacturers, and distributors of any alcoholic beverages also need permits from 
Alcohol and Tobacco Tax and Trade Bureau. 

Below is a list of local, state, and federal requirements that may apply to these business types. 
 

A T  T H E  S T A T E  A N D  F E D E R A L  L E V E L : 
 

• Alcoholic beverage Control (ABC) – Businesses engaged in the sale of alcohol must obtain a license from 
the California Department of Alcoholic Beverage Control (ABC). Listed below is the information. 

o ABC Licensing: https://www.abc.ca.gov/licensing/apply-for-a-new-license/ 
o Prospective and current ABC licensees will find helpful information and resources regarding ABC 

licenses/permits, please consult ABC website at: https://www.abc.ca.gov/licensing/ 
o A catalog of ABC license types. Click on each heading to see a description of the license type 

please consult ABC website at: https://www.abc.ca.gov/licensing/license-types/ 
• California Secretary of State (SOS) Filing – Not necessary for sole proprietors, but if you intend to form a 

corporation, limited liability company, or partnership; you must file with the SOS. 
o SOS Forms: http://www.sos.ca.gov/business/be/forms.htm 

• Income Taxes – All businesses are required to file State income tax with the Franchise Tax Board (FTB) and 
Federal taxes with the Internal Revenue Service (IRS): 

o FTB: https://www.ftb.ca.gov/businesses/index.shtml?WT.mc_id=Global_Businesses_Tab 
o IRS: http://www.irs.gov/Businesses/Small-Businesses-&-Self-Employed/Business-Taxes 

• Sales & Use Tax – If you will be selling tangible property, consult the California Department of Tax and Fee 
Administration (CDTFA) for a Seller’s Permit. You may also qualify for a Resale Certificate. Note: These activities 
were formerly administered by the Board of Equalization (BOE). 

o Seller’s Permit info: http://www.cdtfa.ca.gov/services/permits-licenses.htm 
o Resale Certificate info: https://www.cdtfa.ca.gov/formspubs/pub103/ 
o To access the form for filing:  https://www.cdtfa.ca.gov/formspubs/cdtfa230.pdf  

• For Employers – If your business will have employees, be advised of the following: 
o Wages, Hours, & Working Conditions – Businesses with employees must comply with laws establishing 

minimum standards for wages, hours and working conditions. Consult the California Department of 
Industrial Relations website at: https://www.dir.ca.gov/ 

o Worker’s Compensation – Businesses with employees must maintain Worker’s Compensation Insurance 
coverage. Consult the California Department of Industrial Relations website at: 
https://www.dir.ca.gov/dwc/faqs.html 

o Employment Development Department (EDD) Registration – An employer is required to file a 
Registration Form within 15 days after paying more than $100 in wages to one or more employees. 
Please consult the California EDD website at  
http://www.edd.ca.gov/Payroll_Taxes/Am_I_Required_to_Register_as_an_Employer.htm#business_sub  
ject. 
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• Alcohol and Tobacco Tax and Trade Bureau (TTB) Registration:  

o Non-retail licenses such as beer manufacturers, wine manufacturers, distilled spirits manufacturers, 
brandy manufacturers, and distributors of any alcoholic beverages also need permits from Alcohol and 
Tobacco Tax and Trade Bureau. There is no fee to apply, for more information please consult the TTB 
website at: https://www.ttb.gov/ponl/customer-support 
 

• Federal Employer Identification Number (EIN) –  
o Employers with employees, business partnerships, and corporations, must obtain a Federal EIN from the 

IRS. Businesses can obtain appropriate federal income tax forms from this location. Please consult the IRS 
website at forms from this location. Please consult the IRS website at 
http://www.irs.gov/Businesses/Small-  Businesses-&-Self-Employed/Apply-for-an-Employer-Identification-
Number-(EIN)-Online. 

 

A T  T H E  L O C A L  L E V E L : 

• County Registration – Most counties will require Restaurant Operations to become registered or permitted 
through the county’s environmental health agency. How the registration process is handled may be different 
with each county. Use the CalGOLD online permit assistance tool to learn a county’s specific registration 
requirements.  

• Business License – Most local governments require a business license (or business tax registration). If your 
business will be located in an incorporated city, contact the city. If your business will be located in an 
unincorporated area, contact the county. 

• Zoning – Whether you will be a home-based business or will occupy commercial space, consult your local 
planning department to be sure your business activities are permitted. If your business will be located in an 
incorporated city, contact the city. If your business will be located in an unincorporated area, contact the 
county. 

• Fictitious Business Name – A Fictitious Business Name or Doing Business As (DBA) statement is required 
when: the business name does not include the surname of the individual owner(s) and each of the 
partners; the business name suggests the existence of additional owners; or the nature of the business in 
not clearly evident by the name of the business. This is always obtained from the county in which a 
business is located. 

• Health Permit – All businesses serving food or beverages for human consumption will need a health 
permit, usually obtained from the county environmental health department. Most health departments also 
conduct periodic inspections of facilities and equipment. 

• Building Permits – Whether constructing a new building or making modifications to an existing one, most 
work that contractors perform require a building permit. If your business will be located in an incorporated 
city, contact the city. If your business will be located in an unincorporated area, contact the county. 

• Small Business Development Center – You can also check in with your local Small Business Development Center 
(SBDC) as well. The SBDCs provide assistance to small businesses starting or growing and offer free advice and 
consulting. To find an SBDC closest to you, click this link and enter your zip code:  
http://americassbdc.org/home/find-your-sbdc/, they may be better equipped to advise you on local 
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requirements. 
 

N L I N E  P E R M I T  A S S I S T A N C E  T O O L : 

You can use our online permit assistance tool, CalGOLD (www.calgold.ca.gov) to 
identify local, state, and federal permit information for businesses. The online tool 
provides webpage links, application forms, and contact information for the various 
agencies that administer and issue these permits. For permits and registrations 

administered by the State of California, CalGOLD also includes a Forms and Fee Finder with direct links to applications 
and fee information. Once at the website, input your city and type of business. If your business is not listed, you can 
select "General Business Information” for a list of general requirements. 

 
T I P S : 

Restaurant food operations operations may be at high risk for potential losses due to the possibility of being linked to a 
foodborne illness, having foreign objects in the food, or theft and damages by an employee. It is strongly recommended 
that you make sure these possibilities are covered in your home insurance or renter’s policy, or seek a form of general 
liability insurance that will cover any potential losses. 

 
C O N S I D E R A T I O N S : 

This Quick Start Guide is only one source of information among the many sources that are available to you. You may 
wish to consider multiple sources in order to make an informed decision. You are solely responsible for making a 
decision about how to form and create your business. You are responsible for determining whether the information you 
obtain through your use of this Guide is suitable for your purposes. 

 
Although we go to great lengths to make sure our information is accurate and useful, we recommend you consult a 
lawyer if you want legal advice or any other individual or service provider for specific guidance. We offer this for 
informational purposes only. 
 

P R O P  6 5 : 
 

Proposition 65, officially known as the Safe Drinking Water and Toxic Enforcement Act of 1986, requires businesses to 
provide a clear and reasonable warning before knowingly and intentionally exposing anyone to chemicals that are known 
to state to cause cancer or birth defects or other reproductive harm. It is important to know that a product that receives 
certification from the United States Food and Drug Administration, or another federal agency or state agency, is            
not necessarily exempt from California requirements for chemical exposure warnings. Businesses should be aware of the 
levels of harmful chemicals in their products and of applicable Proposition 65 requirements. For more information on 
Proposition 65 and how to comply with its requirements, please visit https://oehha.ca.gov/proposition-65

http://www.calgold.ca.gov/
https://oehha.ca.gov/proposition-65
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