CALIFORNIA
ﬁ BUSINESS QUICK START GUIDE FOR

PORTAL DOMESTIC REPAIR PERSON (HANDYMAN)

A domestic repair person (often referred to as a handyman) is someone who performs minor building repairs and odd

jobs. The California Contractors State License Board has specific limitations about how much work can be done for

compensation without a valid contractor’s license. Below are more details about these limitations, as well as a list of

local, state, and federal requirements that may apply to these business types.

ATTHE STATEAND FEDERAL LEVEL:

Contractor License — The California Department of Consumer Affairs Contractors State License Board (CSLB)
administers a variety of licenses for contractors, from general contractors to specialty contractors. There is no
specific “handyman license.” However, the CSLB limits unlicensed work to less than $500, including both
materials and labor. Any work valued at $500 or greater requires a valid contractor license. For a complete
list of license types and information on how to apply, see the links below.

O License Types: http://www.cslb.ca.gov/About Us/Library/Licensing Classifications/Default.aspx

0 How to Apply: http://www.cslb.ca.gov/Contractors/Applicants/Contractors License

California Secretary of State (SOS) Filing — Not necessary for sole proprietors, but if you intend to form a
corporation, limited liability company or partnership, you must file with the SOS.
O SOS Forms: http://www.sos.ca.gov/business/be/forms.htm

Income Taxes — All businesses are required to file state income tax with the Franchise Tax Board (FTB) and
Federal Taxes with the Internal Revenue Service (IRS):

0 FTB: https://www.ftb.ca.gov/businesses/index.shtmI?WT.mc_id=Global Businesses Tab

O IRS: http://www.irs.gov/Businesses/Small-Businesses-&-Self-Employed/Business-Taxes

Sales & Use Tax — If you will be selling tangible property, consult the California Department of Tax and Fee
Administration (CDTFA) for a Seller’s Permit. You may also qualify for a Resale Certificate. Note: These activities
were formerly administered by the Board of Equalization (BOE).

0 Seller’s Permit info:https://www.cdtfa.ca.gov/formspubs/pub73.pdf

O Resale Certificate info: https://www.cdtfa.ca.gov/formspubs/cdtfa230.pdf
O Tax Guide for Construction Contractors: https://www.cdtfa.ca.gov/industry/construction.htm

For Employers — If your business will have employees, be advised of the following:
0 Wages, Hours, & Working Conditions — Businesses with employees must comply with laws establishing
minimum standards for wages, hours and working conditions. Consult the California Department of
Industrial Relations website at http://www.dir.ca.gov/dlse/dIse.html.

0 Worker’s Compensation — Businesses with employees must maintain Worker’s Compensation Insurance
coverage. Consult the California Department of Industrial Relations website
at http://www.dir.ca.gov/dwc/employer.htm.

0 Employment Development Department (EDD) Registration — An employer is required to file a
Registration Form within 15 days after paying more than $100 in wages to one or more employees.
Please consult the California EDD website at

http://www.edd.ca.gov/Payroll Taxes/Am | Required to Register as an Employer.htm#business sub

fect.
0 Federal Employer Identification Number (EIN) — Employers with employees, business partnerships, and

corporations, must obtain a Federal EIN from the Internal Revenue Service (IRS). Businesses can obtain

REVISED 3/19/2018


http://www.cslb.ca.gov/About_Us/Library/Licensing_Classifications/Default.aspx
http://www.cslb.ca.gov/Contractors/Applicants/Contractors_License
http://www.sos.ca.gov/business/be/forms.htm
https://www.ftb.ca.gov/businesses/index.shtml?WT.mc_id=Global_Businesses_Tab
http://www.irs.gov/Businesses/Small-Businesses-&-Self-Employed/Business-Taxes
https://www.cdtfa.ca.gov/formspubs/pub73.pdf
https://www.cdtfa.ca.gov/formspubs/cdtfa230.pdf
https://www.cdtfa.ca.gov/industry/construction.htm
http://www.dir.ca.gov/dlse/dlse.html
http://www.dir.ca.gov/dwc/employer.htm
http://www.edd.ca.gov/Payroll_Taxes/Am_I_Required_to_Register_as_an_Employer.htm#business_subject
http://www.edd.ca.gov/Payroll_Taxes/Am_I_Required_to_Register_as_an_Employer.htm#business_subject

CALIFORNIA
¥  BUSINESS QUICK START GUIDE FOR

PORTAL DOMESTIC REPAIR PERSON (HANDYMAN)

appropriate federal income tax forms from this location. Please consult the IRS website at
http://www.irs.gov/Businesses/Small-Businesses-&-Self-Employed/Apply-for-an-Employer-
Identification-Number-(EIN)-Online

AT THE LOCAL LEVEL:

e Business License — Most local governments require a business license (or business tax registration). If your
business will be located in an incorporated city, contact the city. If your business will be located in an
unincorporated area, contact the county.

e Zoning — Whether you will be a home-based business or will occupy commercial space, consult your local
planning department to be sure your business activities are permitted. If your business will be located in an
incorporated city, contact the city. If your business will be located in an unincorporated area, contact the
county.

e Building Permits — Whether constructing a new building or making modifications to an existing one, most work
that contractors perform require a building permit. If your business will be located in an incorporated city,
contact the city. If your business will be located in an unincorporated area, contact the county.

¢ Fictitious Business Name — A Fictitious Business Name or Doing Business As (DBA) statement is required when:
the business name does not include the surname of the individual owner(s) and each of the partners; or the
business name suggests the existence of additional owners; or the nature of the business in not clearly evident
by the name of the business. This is always obtained from the county in which a business is located.

e Small Business Development Center — You can also check in with your local Small Business Development Center
(SBDC) as well. The SBDCs provide assistance to small businesses starting or growing and offer free advice and
consulting. To find an SBDC closest to you, click this link and enter your zip code:
http://americassbdc.org/home/find-your-sbdc/, they may be better equipped to advise you on local

requirements.

ONLINE PERMIT ASSISTANCE TOOL:

You can use our online permit assistance tool, CalGOLD (www.calgold.ca.gov) to
< I cal identify local, state, and federal permit information for businesses. The online tool

If"-e Gold Standard  provides webpage links, application forms, and contact information for the various
or Permit Assistance

agencies that administer and issue these permits. For permits and registrations
administered by the State of California, CalGOLD also includes a Forms and Fee Finder with direct links to applications
and fee information. Once at the website, input your city and type of business. If your business is not listed, you can

select "General Business Information” for a list of general requirements.

CONSIDERATIONS:

This Quick Start Guide is only one source of information among the many sources that are available to you. You may
wish to consider multiple sources in order to make an informed decision. You are solely responsible for making a
decision about how to form and create your business. You are responsible for determining whether the information you
obtain through your use of this Guide is suitable for your purposes.
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Although we go to great lengths to make sure our information is accurate and useful, we recommend you consult a
lawyer if you want legal advice or any other individual or service provider for specific guidance. We offer this for
informational purposes only.

PROP 65:

Proposition 65, officially known as the Safe Drinking Water and Toxic Enforcement Act of 1986, requires businesses to
provide a clear and reasonable warning before knowingly and intentionally exposing anyone to chemicals that are
known to state to cause cancer or birth defects or other reproductive harm. It is important to know that a product that
receives certification from the United States Food and Drug Administration, or another federal agency or state agency, is
not necessarily exempt from California requirements for chemical exposure warnings. Businesses should be aware of the
levels of harmful chemicals in their products and of applicable Proposition 65 requirements. For more information on
Proposition 65 and how to comply with its requirements, please visit https://oehha.ca.gov/proposition-65.
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